The US National Archives’ Photostream – Loving all these vintage, 1970s photos

Before rollerblades...

Currently, I am working on my online, graphic design portfolio. So, I was looking for inspiration and came across the US National Archives’ Photostreamon Flickr. I did a search on Central Park, and for some unknown reason, my search led to this amazing trove of vintage, 1970s photos. I honestly can’t tell you how long I just spent going through these photos. There is just something so deep and rich about the colors and lighting from this old film.Of course, I love the convenience of having a digital camera, having the luxury to take as many photos as needed of our letterpress projects and being able to upload them immediately. However, there was something kind of special about taking photos, bringing them to be developed and waiting in anticipation to see how the photos actually turned out.

I also have to say, since everything is digital, our family photo albums have fallen to the wayside. I remember, I used to visit my parents, pull our these huge old photo albums and go through them. Right there, so convenient all bound and at my fingertips. We could see the photos of when we all got the chickenpox, the look of sheer joy on my brother’s face when we got our first Nintendo and how lame I actually kind of looked in my favorite, pink and purple unicorn shirt with matching trousers. Well, those days are gone. If I want to see any photos from the year 2000 on, I have to ask my dad to turn on his computer, sort through the various files and show me. Maybe I’m old fashioned, but it just isn’t the same. My husband and I keep saying that we have to get some photo albums made using Blurb, but that has yet to happen.

Anyway, hope you enjoy these photos, as far as I know they have no copyright restrictions so can be used for most anything. They are enough to make me want to find a working, vintage camera on Ebay!

– Stephanie, pressedinbrooklyn.com

Love the wallpaper. Btw, is he knitting?

Vintage Grand Central Station.

Philly street scene.

Wonder if he is available for parties...

Vintage popcorn stand.

Leave a comment

Filed under Photography

Leave a Reply

