A Day in the Little Tokyo Neighborhood of Los Angeles

A confection made of bean paste and wrapped in a cherry blossom leaf. The pink is sweet and the leaf is salty. Being a huge chocolate covered pretzel fan, I loved these. This particular sweet is seasonal and only available in January and February.

My husband was recently assigned to Los Angeles on a rather large project his office is working on. As I have never visited this city before, I thought this would be a great opportunity to visit and take a look around.

Yesterday, I wandered to the Little Tokyo neighborhood, located in downtown. I had read about the Japanese American National Museum and decided to stop by. It is a rather small museum but very well put together and certainly worth visiting. It focuses on the contributions of Japanese Americans, as well as the experiences of  Japanese immigrants to this country. One part of the museum showed a particularly dark moment in US history, the internment of American citizens of Japanese descent during WWII.

After touring the museum, I wandered around all of the wonderful shops. The weather out was perfect, not a cloud in the sky and in the 70s. Made me feel a little sorry for my friends back in NYC…but not that much!

I made a point to stop in Fugetsu-Do Confectionery. This little shop has been around and selling Japanese sweets since 1903. Everything looked so lovely, it was hard to pick. I love Japanese sweets, each one is a little piece of art. So, before I tore into them, I thought it might be nice to take a few photos.

– Stephanie, www.pressedinbrooklyn.com

This one was gone in seconds! One of their most popular it is mochi with a strawberry bean paste inside and a chocolate decoration on top.

Not exactly sure what this one is. But I really liked the clean lines and the square shape contained within the round shape.

No idea what this is either, but it seems almost too pretty to eat.

A display of sweets at Fugetsu-Do. I'll be back!

1 Comment

Filed under Dining, Uncategorized

One response to “A Day in the Little Tokyo Neighborhood of Los Angeles

  1. Amy

    so pretty. so hard to choose a favorite!

Leave a Reply

