The Etsy Holiday Gift Challenge – Buying a Gift for My Dad

My puppy Pascal with a mini John Deere. My dad's hobby is restoring old tractors.

Another day, another gift list. Just to recap, I plan to purchase all of this year’s presents from Etsy or other small businesses/artists and my budget is $50 per person. On to my dad. This list is kind of odd, but then his interests are rather varied. He is a retired chemical engineer who likes chocolate, bacon, tractors, cycling, history and travel. He is from Missouri but has lived in New Jersey for the last 15 years. So that about sums him up…

First off, we have these delicious looking dark chocolate and rosemary truffles from estheraguirre. I love chocolate and I love rosemary, so I imagine together they would make a brilliant combination! This etsy shop also sells dark chocolate/wine truffles and cream brulee truffles. All sound amazing, not sure which I would pick!

Rosemary and dark chocolate truffles by estheraguirre.

Next up, this great vintage globe from 1947. I think my dad would really like it since he was born in 1948. Also, he has traveled all over the world, so this would nicely bring together his love of travel and history. You can find it  over at vintagecals shop.

Great vintage 1947 glove from vintagecals.

As I mentioned, my dad is a big history buff. As far back as I can remember, he has always had an interest in WWII. Ask him nearly anything about it…from the battle of Midway to what happened in Normandy and, most likely, he can write you a report about it off the top of his head. Anyway, I thought these WWII era rations looked pretty interesting. A great piece of history and, actually, rather pretty. I thought maybe they would make an interesting piece if I framed them. You can find them over at RememberMeEmily.

WWII rations from RememberMeEmily.

I found this great John Deere tractor t-shirt and thought it would be perfect for my dad. He loves tractors, especially John Deeres. He has a few mid-century John Deere’s that he has brought back to life. You can find this t-shirt over at TJaysTees.

Vintage John Deere tractor t-shirt from TJaysTees.

Besides being a hard-core chocolate addict, my dad loves bacon. There is pretty much not a day where he goes without it. When we lived in Saudi Arabia, probably the most difficult part about it for him was the lack of bacon…and the turkey bacon was a poor substitute 😦 I wonder if he would like these maple bacon cookies from KEcookies. I don’t even like bacon, but I have to admit, these look pretty great!

Yummy maple bacon cookies from KEcookies.

While searching for John Deere on Etsy, I came across this vintage John Deere farmers pocket ledger. Looks to be from about 1955, I think my dad has a tractor from about that year. I bet he would be really surprised to open a present with this inside! You can find it over at vintagetwice.

Great vintage John Deere pocket ledger from vintagetwice.

My dad is from Missouri. While searching for Missouri, I found this interesting map from 1893. I can’t see close enough to tell if his town is actually on it, but it really doesn’t look like there is too much in the way of highways going on. I think he would love to have this map framed and hanging in his office. You can find this map, and tons of others, over at Holcroft.

1893 map of Missouri from Holcroft.

For many years, my dad was a chemical engineer. This has to be the most beautiful periodic table I have ever seen. I have never thought of it in terms of beauty before, but this table of elements poster  from HeyMomByPromise makes me see it in a whole new way. Would also look great framed and hanging in my dad’s office. It is over my $50 budget by a few dollars, but it was just too great not to include.

Retro periodic table by HeyMomByPromise.

Here is another map of Missouri. This one, from 1873,  is just of St. Louis and more like a painting. You can see, there are no tall buildings, no Gateway Arch. I especially like all the steam ships dotting the Mississippi river. This map would also looked great framed. You can find it over at Imagerich.

Antique map of St. Louis from Imagerich.

I couldn’t believe it when I found this t-shirt! It is too perfect. It combines my dad’s love of bacon with science. I think I might have to get this for him! You can find it over at CrazyDogTshirts.

Great bacon t-shirt from CrazyDogTshirts.

I fell in love with this poster the moment I saw it. It has a great vibe and my dad loves the Gateway Arch. The architect, Saarinen, is pretty amazing and this poster was a planning sketch commissioned by the City of St. Louis. I think this might be it! You can find it over at midmoderngoods…that is if I have not already purchased it. It is a little above budget, but I couldn’t pass it up!

Amazing poster of the Gateway Arch from midmoderngoods.

My dad loves riding his bike, and he also loves wine. Have not really seen him do the two together, but if he decides to, this present from oopsmark would be perfect!

Bicycle wine rack from oopsmark.

Keeping with the wine theme, how great are these vintage german wine glasses. I love the green glass stem. Totally different and unique. You can find them over at CypressHouse. I would love to have them for myself!

Great vintage wine glasses from CypressHouse.

I’m not sure if my dad already has a bike bell, but I really like this one. I could even get it with the letter “R” for his first name. You can find this and lots of other great bells over at SpokeNWheel.

Bike bell from SpokeNWheel.

These chocolates from PetitesMorceaux are just lovely. These little gems are so pretty, they are like little works of art, too pretty to eat!

Pretty chocolate truffles from PetitesMorceaux.

And last but not least, this great poster by  Mandipidy –  “New Jersey, where we pump our fists and not our gas.” It is true, in New Jersey we are not allowed to pump our gas. In fact, it has been so long since I pumped gas that I don’t even know how to anymore…how embarrassing!

Great New Jersey poster by Mandipidy.

Now, I know my dad would get the part about pumping gas, but I don’t think he knows what Jersey Shore is. I think I would have to explain that part to him…

Me: Dad, do you know what Snooki is?

Dad: Geee, Snooki? No, what is that?

Me: It is a type of animal, kind of like a really large rodent or opossum. The proper name is Psnookidocherius Peregrines, but in regional dialect it is just called a Snooki.

Dad: Gee, I have never heard of that before. Where do they live?

Me: Their natural habitat is along the coastline of New Jersey, from Staten Island down to Seaside.  They grow to be about four and a half feet long and can range from 90 to 150 pounds. They subsist on a diet that consists of alcohol, men and depravity.

Dad: What? Alcohol, men and raspberries?

Me: No dad, depravity…not raspberries.

Dad: Gee, now I know you’re talking nonsense.

Hmmm, I think maybe I’ll just get the New Jersey poster for my brother 🙂

And maybe I will give him a set of our letterpress word find, any occasion cards. This card works for any occasion, just find and circle the word that works for you, from Happy Birthday to Congratulations on Your Graduation to Happy Anniversary! You can find the wordfind card in our PressedInBrooklyn Etsy shop.

Our letterpress word find card from PressedInBrooklyn.

– Stephanie, www.pressedinbrooklyn.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Antique, Architecture, Greeting Card, Letterpress, Shopping

Leave a comment